Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Your Jeep Project
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1946 CJ2A #30381

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Matt Gillis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1946 CJ2A #30381
    Posted: 07 Jan. 2016 at 2:17am

Hi! I am new to owning an old Jeep and I have lots to learn!  I have always wanted a 2A or 3A and have been looking for the last 5 or 6 years for the right starter Jeep and never encountered the “right one”.  That changed this past October, searching through our regions Craigs, list this one came up – everything sounded good when I talked with the owner and I went with cash and an empty trailer – returned home with our new family member – a 1946 CJ2A. Serial #303XX. 73k miles. Column shift, split windshield and no “bubba mods”. It has 12v battery and lights with resistors for the 6v starter. My wife and I want to use this as a fun driver a few times a week – our two boys love riding around in the back with the dogs!

Aside from the roll cage, 30 inch tires and the bright yellow paint – everything appears to be original. I wanted to share the photos with the group and see what you thought of her.  Does it look correct?

Right now she is in a heated garage (mother in laws) for the winter – I am the third owner and she has never been exposed to road salt, I don’t want to be the one to do that… The body is ok – lots of ”new” sheet metal and rivets on the original tub – the tool box under the seat is one big hole to the ground under the lid.

The items I want to have addressed/added are:

1)      Seat belts for the kids

2)      Turn signals – the drivers in NY have no clue what hand signals are except for the single finger in the air…

3)      Second gear syncro – you have to hold the selector in second or it pops out – pretty annoying when in traffic