Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1948 Numbers match

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 1kzwoman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1948 Numbers match
    Posted: 19 Nov. 2014 at 3:46am
I an reviving a 1948 CJ2A, that's been in  the family most of it's life.(not to mention all of mine and my son's, and grandson's)  

I checked serial number, body tag number and frame numbers, all match. Motor number is proper too.
I have decided to invest in a wiring harness so that my grandson won't miss out on "Willy". Sent an email to Joe at Vintage of Maine to start the process. 

My Dad was a mechanic by profession so mechanically sound overall too, mostly wheel bearing packs,
Ross steering issues, and seals which I find normal for nearly 70 years old.   What started this off was a rotten leaky heater hose, oh well I needed a winter project.

Thank you all for the help that I have found here and the many questions you answered be for I even thought of them. Great Forum

wc16 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wc16 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov. 2014 at 8:45pm
Hello I am in the same process with a '48. I have the ID plate on the passenger side firewall, the stamped #'s on the lip of the right side tailgate and the rectangular data plate on the passenger side dash.   Is there a third ID tag? thanks
Zuma58 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zuma58 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov. 2014 at 1:19pm
Left front side of the frame, should be a tag there just on the side, I believe it should be riveted on
Steve
Long May You Run!!!
damar2yxr View Drop Down
Sponsor Member x 2