Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Modifications from original
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Buck's turbo diesel swap

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 30>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Daniel_Buck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Buck's turbo diesel swap
    Posted: 30 Apr. 2013 at 12:58am
I've started a thread on a few other forums, I'll start one here because I know there's at least one or two other people who are doing this here on CJ2apage, or have already done the same/similar swap.

I've never done an engine swap before, I'm decent with a wrench though, and have a fairly good selection of tools that were my father's. 

In any case, my 2a is mostly stock with 5.38 gears, T90 transmission and D18 transfer case with Saturn overdrive.   2.5" lift springs, a roll cage, suspension seats, 15" wheels with 31" Superswamper tires, Saturn overdrive and an MB grill.   That's probably about as much modification (asside from the engine swap) as I'll be doing.  It's mostly a street jeep, but if I find a pair of narrow track offset D44 axles with 5.38 gears in them for a good price some time, I may eventually do that swap as well. 

It's my daily driver (beautiful weather here in SoCal)  but I do want to take it onto some mild-ish trails, so if I ever do find some D44s I might put a selectable locker in them for the times that it'll see dirt.  My goal isn't freeway speeds, my goal is to keep up with surface street traffic a bit better, and to be able to hold a 45-50mph cruising speed.  Particularly on hills.  Right now it's such a dog on hills, after the 31" tires.

The engine is a Kubota V2203 DI, which I'll put a turbocharger on there sized for 2.2L.