Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Jeep Photos and Stories
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Newbie starting a project

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Grizzlyjiz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Newbie starting a project
    Posted: 12 Oct. 2015 at 4:28pm
Hello,
I'm new to the CJ2A world but not to jeeps.  I have some experience working on CJ5, CJ7 and YJ, i learn as i go and break a lot of things along the way.  Recently i have decided to try and repair my father in laws late 1940's (i think a 48) CJ2A.  Currently it is buried under a pile of clutter in a garage, it drove into the garage about 20 years ago and has sat garaged ever since.  For now my goal is only to get it driving again and worry about cosmetic restoration sometime down the road.  My plan is to get some functioning tires on the jeep and have it towed back to my garage where i will drain/replace all fluids, change any rubber tubing/seals and give the wiring a good once over.  What else can i expect from a project like this?  Any tips or helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

-Pete
Night0wl View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Night0wl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct. 2015 at 2:21am
Good luck on the project.
Things to expect?  Just about anything, really.
Brakes will no doubt be useless with the lines rusted and the wheel cylinders locked.  
Hopefully the garage is dry and there was no chance of water getting into the tranny. (That usually happens with the ones out in the field)  
The usual electric wiring issues that come from old vehicles sitting for years.  
Hard to say what you could find.  Has to be a reason he parked it there and never went back to get it.
Good luck with the project.  Get it uncovered, get it out and get working on it!