Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Solenoid overheating ???

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crazydima Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Solenoid overheating ???
    Posted: 31 Oct. 2012 at 6:28pm
Fellow Jeep Enthusiasts,

Help!!! Please!!!

Yes I am a novice at this. Have owned my CJ-2A for 3 months or so. Getting a crash course in all things jeep. LOL! 
My old distributor was frozen in the block. So after many gallons of penetrating oil, a chain wrench and a blow torrch it broke free. Well it did not survive removal.

So I bought an electronic distributor to replace it. I have it installed on the jeep and I thought I had it set up as per plug no. 1 position on distributor, etc, etc.

I hit the key ignition and instead of the energetic rapid turning of the starter motor I had with the old distributor in place it now seems draggy and sluggish and hard to turn over. I now have the battery on a charger to be sure to get it charged up with enough juice for future attempts.

Plus I hit the key ignition noticed that the solenoid appeared to be overheating at the post where the positive battery cable and the wire from the ignition switch were mounted. As I continued to hit the ignition to start a little smoke starting to appear from that post of the solenoid.

All I have is a skeleton wiring set up just for the ignition system since I have the tub off and I am going over the whole jeep. No lights, nothing like that is hooked up. None of the original wiring is left on the jeep. All new.

I am pretty sure the wiring is the way I had it when the old distributor was in place and the motor started and ran just fine.