Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Transmission Main Shaft

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mortensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Transmission Main Shaft
    Posted: 29 July 2016 at 2:56am
Hello,

I've been enjoying reading the messages on the CJ2A forum for several years now as I've been trying to get more educated on my own CJ2A.  I inherited a 1948 CJ2A which appears to be pretty much original, albeit in rough shape.  My father had used it to plow out his driveway for many years and decided to retire it after the engine began smoking quite heavily.  

I now have the vehicle and have decided to get it running again.  I'm not sure how far I plan to take the rebuild, but I know I need a snow plow and this vehicle has one!  I've already pulled the motor and had the cylinders bored out.  Before reassembling the motor I thought I should pull the transmission and transfer case and clean up the 60+ years of accumulated grease.  I decided to at least clean the components and replace the seals to prevent more oil leaks on my garage floor.  The transmission looked really clean on the inside which I was happy with; I didn't feel like taking on more than the motor this year.  However, once I separated it from the transfer case, I noticed the main shaft as it exists out the back of the transmission isn't a snug fit, leaving the shaft to wobble a bit.

Here are some photos of the Jeep taken last summer.  Right now the motor's out and there are parts all over the garage.

My question is concerning the wobbly main shaft.  I read a few of the transmission rebuild manuals and they don't really specify how tight this rear seal should be.  One manual does say the shaft shouldn't wobble which makes me think I've got a problem.  See the photos below.