Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

12 volt Generator and Starter Recommendations

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote IRQVET Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 12 volt Generator and Starter Recommendations
    Posted: 17 Jan. 2023 at 8:19pm
So my GPA motor started life as a 12 volt system, while my CJ started life as a 6 volt system. Currently my rig is set up for 12 volt, with some weird aftermarket 12 volt alternator setup and a 6 volt starter. 

Looking to go all 12 volt. So when looking for generators and starters, is there a better brand or vendor I should be looking at?

Looking for recommendations if you have any. 

As always, I’m no expert in anything, so I yield to the vast knowledge on this forum. Thumbs Up

Edited by IRQVET - 17 Jan. 2023 at 8:26pm
Dean
Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran
49' CJ2A w/ GPA Engine #8924
67 CJ5 (Sold)
Lee MN View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lee MN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan. 2023 at 9:00pm
Find a 12v generator off a gladiator truck or early wagoner, direct bolt on and most will think it’s factory

Lee
               LEE
44 GPW-The Perfected Willys
49 2A
“If you wait, you only get older”
67 M715
American Made Rolling History
Oldpappy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Oldpappy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jan. 2023 at 9:15pm
The stock 6 volt starter works fine in a 12 volt system, this has been done on a great many 12 Volt conversions, including my CJ2A. It actually does better with the added voltage. 

I don't know what you mean by weird alternator, but a standard Delco alternator will work fine. If you want a better than usual one check out the setup Dan Sharon sells at http://www.jeep1942.com