Forum Home Forum Home > Bantam Trailer - Discussion - For Sale - Wanted > Bantam Trailer - Your project
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1946 Bantam T3-C #9466

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Robert Bills Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1946 Bantam T3-C #9466
    Posted: 02 June 2009 at 5:55pm
Hi, I'm the new guy here, although no stranger to Bantam trailers.

Here are some photos of my Bantam T3-C.  My father purchased the trailer from a local citrus rancher, the original owner, in 1966.  It was painted yellow at the time, to match his CJ-2A.  I repainted it to match our '66 CJ-5 V6 (my first attempt at auto paint, done in the vacant lot next door).  

Our Bantam was used for family camping and by my scout troop for hauling wood to campouts.  After I graduated from college in 1972, and purchased the family CJ-5 from my father, I used the trailer several times (the last being a trip to Pismo Beach for the sand drags during the summer of 1974).  The trailer disappeared shortly after that and I assumed that my father had sold it.

Sometime in 1999 or 2000 I received a phone message from my father asking me to pick up the trailer.  My dad had stored it under a tarp in my brother's chicken coop for 26 years because he thought I might want it someday.  Amazingly, the chuck box and all of the camping gear was still in it, in perfect condition.