Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > How to information
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Body Shop Tips & Tricks

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 10>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (3) Thanks(3)   Quote otto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Body Shop Tips & Tricks
    Posted: 01 Feb. 2021 at 2:14am

I asked viewers in my project thread if there was any interest in tips/instruction for body/paint topics. There were a few responses to my question, so I may attempt this to see how it goes. I am a former body/paint technician who worked in collision shops for a number of years and although not employed in this field any longer (thank god!), this knowledge shouldn’t go to waste and could potentially help someone save some time and/or money or more importantly aggravation. 

Purpose: not to turn anyone into a body/paint professional, just some helpful advice/problem solving assistance.

What I’m envisioning is a forum discussion where we could discuss/debate/argue tools & equipment, techniques, products, procedures, etc., as much as you like. I’ve seen a lot of sketchy practices on the internet and have shouted “what the %#*& are you doing that for?!” at the screen more than once.

Is there an interest in this?

47 CJ2A w/fuel injected boat engine
48 CJ2A
64 Ford Econoline Travelwagon
If you can't get there in a Jeep, get a motorcycle!
General Eisenhower View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote General Eisenhower Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb. 2021 at 2:24am
I have an interest sure. I dont have many metal shaping tools, so most things I contact out, to people that know metal and welding.

I have a panel above the rear fender that should be straight, and it kinda isnt, so I'm trying to figure that out 
I Like Ike!
1948 CJ2a "Hefty Horse"
1994 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2016 Jeep JKU 75th anniversary edition