Wheel Modifications

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
jpet View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Sponsor Member x 5

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jpet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wheel Modifications
    Posted: 12 Jan. 2018 at 5:33pm
Again, I have no plans to start running 900-16 NDTs. I just put these tires on to show myself and some others what 35" NDTs would look like. I also wanted some photos of it for another purpose. I will run 750-16 NDTS.

My 750-16 NDTs have a 6.2 wide tread and the recommended wheel width is 5.5' - 6.5' wide, i.e. 6". I'm not a tire expert, but it only makes sense that a 6" wide wheel/tire would have less side flex than a 5" wide wheel/tire simply by better weight displacement. Yes, lowering your aspect ratio would be more significant, but I still need ground clearance which is more important. I want to run the maximum tire diameter I can that still looks stock. That would be 750-16 NDT and 6" is the better wheel width.

We can crunch numbers to a point but I prefer the method of wheeling the tires and wheels to see what happens and make adjustments based on that.

Lee and I have had the conversation on whether or not 900-16 NDTs kick you out of the "Super Stock" class. My general rule of thumb applies to not only the tires but the entire jeep. If people ask you, "Is it stock?", you are still in the club. When they stop asking you, "What year is it?",... you have really crossed the line
CJ2A #29110 "General Willys"
MB #204827 "BAM BAM"

"We do what we can, and we try what we can't"
oldtime View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldtime Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan. 2018 at 4:56pm
Bruce, 
Do you wheel that on a regular basis ? Ha Ha Ha !

Hey Jeff...
I think you brought up a real good point the other day by showing us "too much tire" for the Jeep.