Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Your Jeep Project
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Pope's 1949 CJ3A - 4.3L, SM465, Dana 18 Swap

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 10>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Oldpappy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oldpappy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pope's 1949 CJ3A - 4.3L, SM465, Dana 18 Swap
    Posted: 05 Dec. 2023 at 1:31pm
I have seen the Ford boxes mounted behind the axle but just didn't look like the best idea to me. 

I am in the process of mounting a Saginaw box on a CJ2A frame. This is my first time for doing a Saginaw conversion, but a friend of mine with far more experience with this, and who is a far better welder than I am, fabricated the mount, boxed the frame horns, and tunneled the crossmember for the shaft. 

This Jeep will have a two hole knuckle and one piece tie rod. He mounted the box as far forward on the frame horn as possible so that the drag link would have plenty of clearance with the tie rod.

The frame is 50 miles away at a friend's shop so I can't take a picture right now, but you seem to have a good grasp of the idea.
If you can't get there in a Jeep you don't need to be there!
Pope891 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pope891 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec. 2023 at 12:59pm
I decided to create a mounting plate for the steering box, then weld it to the frame rails.  It should be plenty strong.

To create a mounting plate, first I made a paper template by tracing the holes in the steering box.  Then, I transferred those holes with a punch to some scrap sheet metal.  After confirming the fit, I transferred those holes to some 3/8" thick plate.  Super simple stuff.

Instagram #flatfenderpope

My Build
Pope891 View Drop Down