Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

No Spark - 6 Volt 1948

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: No Spark - 6 Volt 1948
    Posted: 05 Apr. 2020 at 2:08am
I am working through a no spark issue on a 6 volt 1948.

The Jeep Cranks but will not fire on starting fluid with the choke closed.

There is what I have checked and what I have replaced.

• The battery is showing 6.3 volts
  • The wire going into the + side of the Coil with the switch "On" is showing 6.1 volts
  • I replace the block mounted Coil today with a new Coil that has an internal resistor (like the one I have been running for the last 12 years).
  • I replace the condenser today with a NOS WWII Ford Condenser for a 6 Volt Jeep.
  • The points are gapped at .018"
  • The wire from the coil the distributor is tight.
  • The distributor is an NOS unit with less than 40 miles on it.
  • The rotor turns when you bump the starter - counter clockwise so the cam is turning the oil pump (but it does not show any oil pressure on the gauge with the slow turning 6 volt starter).
  • The Spark plugs are not fouled.
  • I replaced the plug wires last fall before putting the Jeep up on Jack stands in it dedicated garage for the winter.
So any ideas on what to try next?

Here is what I plan to check next:

- I will Ohm out  the primary coil wire.  Perhaps the wire is bad or the ends are not connected properly.  
- I will check for continuity  between the negative side of the coil and the distributor with the points closed

Suggestions?

Thanks

Edited by Stev - 05 Apr. 2020 at 2:12am
Stev
1946 CJ2A Trail Jeep (The Saint), 1948 CJ2A Lefty Restored
Bruce W View Drop Down