Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Fuel Line Routing

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cmontgomery11@woh.rr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fuel Line Routing
    Posted: 05 June 2023 at 10:01am
I have a 47 that appears to have the fuel lines routed backwards to the fuel pump.  It runs well except for some speeding of the engine after it runs awhile.  I'm not a mechanic, but it seems this should cause an issue.  Does it?  When I replace the pump, should I route the lines as is or correctly?  Does it matter?
TERRY View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TERRY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2023 at 10:11am
Try explaining your problem more clearly.
BOULDER 48 2A
Rus Curtis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Rus Curtis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2023 at 10:49am
Originally posted by cmontgomery11@woh.rr cmontgomery11@woh.rr wrote:

... I'm not a mechanic...

It may have been stated as clearly as possible.

My suggestion is to post some pictures about each part you have concerns about and then, using a Service Manual, become familiar with how each system works, and tailor your questions to help zero in on the problem.
Rus Curtis
Alabama
1954 CJ3B
Bantam T3-C
oldtime View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote oldtime Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 June 2023 at 1:34pm
So long as it meets your particular needs; it is always best to keep everything stock standard and as properly fitted as is possible.