Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Your Jeep Project
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Looking at a 46 2a

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cgollihar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Looking at a 46 2a
    Posted: 07 Sep. 2018 at 3:18am
hello all, I'm looking at a 2a willys.  It's all stock, and has been owned by the same person for 40 pIus years. 

Here's the details:  no rust,  body looks totally straight.   Koenig winch, locking hubs, cant remember which..  all stock drivetrain.. 

What should I check for?  I'm new to willys

Thanks, chris 
Bufordjeep View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bufordjeep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep. 2018 at 3:28am
A clear title, compression check will tell a lot.  How well does it start, drive and stop?
Cgollihar View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cgollihar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep. 2018 at 3:37am
Buford, thanks for your reply.  He says compression is good, but I will be checking.   By the way, what should it be?
  He says oil pressure is 25 idle and 40 plus on throttle.  Wheel cylinders are new, and fluid is changed.. I'll be checking those as well. 

Chris 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bufordjeep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep. 2018 at 3:49am
Will defer to other opinions... 
For me anything over 90 is good, differences in readings of 20 psi are a concern.  
Lots of info on this site, the search feature is good.
Oil pressure sounds nice.
What the heck, buy it and have fun.
Gil View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep. 2018 at 3:50am