Forum Home Forum Home > The CJ2A Parts Project > Parts List > Fuel System
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Marvel-Schebel

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Galt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Marvel-Schebel
    Posted: 23 Mar. 2022 at 9:00am
NOOB here.  Found this forum, and noted a lot of neat threads.  Finally started work on getting my '52 3A back on the road after +25 years sitting un-run (but stored indoors).  Intend to trailer it behind the RV, and do some exploring out west - including over Wolf Creek and Molas passes, and a run up Pike's Peak.  Regardless - higher altitudes, and we live at roughly 800' MSL.  Have a few hundred hours in light aircraft - you know, with a "mixture" control, i.e., lean it out to 50 degrees rich of peak EGT.  I know that Carter WO is just a "basic" controlled-leak, and I'd expect the mixture would be so rich at some elevation that the engine would be pretty much gutless (as well as washing the cylinder walls) so...  I wondered if anyone ever tried using a Marvel-Schebler updraft (or other similar) carb adapted in place of the WO?  I keep thinking that a manual control of the main-jet would be preferable, in that I could lean it out by "feel" and by coolant-temp monitoring...if it's too lean, you can feel it start to miss (don't know if it would over-temp, being water-cooled).  If no one has tried one - and I'm able to cobble one on to the manifold, I'll do another post on it.
AF Vet DS2
oldtime View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldtime Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar. 2022 at 9:48am
I’ve only once heard of anyone attempting a Marvel Schebler to a Willy’s. That was somewhere down under in Australia and was likely due to accessibility.

IMHO the updraft Marvel Schebler is a great carb.