Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

REAR AXLE HUB REMOVAL

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jeepsterjim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: REAR AXLE HUB REMOVAL
    Posted: 20 Sep. 2019 at 2:02am
Have a D-44 two piece off set  diff

Trying to remove hub and axle shaft

Problem:
hub will not budge.....Used the correct 3 prong puller

Removed the backing plate to diff flange bolts and removed brake line.
Tried removing axle/ flange assembly as one piece--- won't budge....used propper slide hammer set up.

Did not apply heat to hub/axle

Any cleaver ideas?

Edited by jeepsterjim - 20 Sep. 2019 at 2:33am
Jim
CJ-2A - 81299
NCtoy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NCtoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep. 2019 at 2:58am
Im no expert hub puller, but this method has worked for me in the past, on the most stubborn hubs I’ve dealt with.  

Get your puller good and tight, then apply heat to the hub. I’ve had good luck with just a propane torch. Get it too hot to touch but not red. Then take the heat off and spray the hub/axle with some lube, like pb blaster or something. See if you can tighten the puller some more. Then more heat. I’ve had them take a few cycles of this, then left the puller on while I did something else, to come back to a loose hub. Leave your axle nut on so the hub doesn’t go flying when it breaks loose. 
Lee MN View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lee MN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Sep. 2019 at 3:04am