Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Tech Questions and Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

spedi sleeve

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: spedi sleeve
    Posted: 18 Feb. 2019 at 10:27pm
Is it possible to put a speedi sleeve on the end of the crank where the rear main seal rides? I have tried 3 times with a rubber seal and it does not work on my serial #
29---  cj2a. Where the seal rides is not nice and  smooth and I do not want to pull the crank as I am new to jeepdom. Also, when I remove the engine, should I remove it at the transmission or at the bell housing. Continued thanks for everyones input.
Thad
Life is short. Buy a jeep
wheelie View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wheelie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb. 2019 at 11:50pm
 I would certainly think a speed sleeve would work. Expensive perhaps. 
WeeWilly View Drop Down
Sponsor Member x 2

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WeeWilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb. 2019 at 12:07am
 I don't think a speedi sleeve could be installed because of the flanges on the crank unless they make a 2 piece sleeve that I don't know about.

Jim
47 CJ2A (Ranch Hand) 48 CJ2A, 48 Willys truck, T3C 3782, M274 (Military Mule)
Mark W. View Drop Down
Sponsor Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mark W. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb. 2019 at 12:55am
NOPE a speedi sleeve slips on With the seal surface down in that narrow slot there is no way to get one to slip on.