Forum Home Forum Home > CJ-2A Discussion Area > Off-Topic area
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Tips wanted for buying a CJ2A

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ColeB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tips wanted for buying a CJ2A
    Posted: 08 June 2020 at 1:12am
My name is Cole, I'm new here. I'm currently looking for a Willys CJ2A as my first Jeep project. I figure that they are the simplest Jeeps out there and a good way to get some basic experience. I've already done a little digging around Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace and decided to set my budget for no more than $3000. The reason I'm asking for tips is because I'm new to all this and I figured this would be a good place to get opinions and tips on what to look for and what to expect for what I'm asking for.  So, do any of you guys who have bought 2As (or own them and have experience with them) have any words of wisdom for my search? Thanks, 

Cole
otto View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote otto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2020 at 1:30am
My advice would be to spend a little more to get something that runs and drives. It won’t be that much more than a basket case and you can evaluate the vehicle better before buying. 
47 CJ2A w/fuel injected boat engine
48 CJ2A
64 Ford Econoline Travelwagon
If you can't get there in a Jeep, get a motorcycle!
Flatfender Ben View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flatfender Ben Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 June 2020 at 1:39am
I think you’ll be able to find something in your price range. 
But it’s going to need a lot of work. 
For me I’m more interested in conditions of engine and drivetrain. 
I would rather have a beat fairly original body than something that’s full of bondo and lots of mods.